What Is When

What Is When - Clean Feed ‎– CF146CD, 2009

Luis Lopes, Adam Lane, Igal Foni (Clean Feed)


  • Double Bass – Adam Lane
  • Drums – Igal Foni
  • Guitar – Luís Lopes

Recording track list:

  1. Evolution Motive (For Charles Darwin And Sonny Sharrock) 4:03 
  2. Spontaneous Combustion 4:07 
  3. Cerejeiras 8:01 
  4. Eufoni 0:59
    1. Drums – Luís Lopes
    2. Guitar – Igal Foni 
  5. The Siege 4:24 
  6. Street Clown Girl 6:37 
  7. Melodic 8 8:32 
  8. ChiChi Rides The Tiger 5:24 
  9. Perched Upon An Electric Wire 5:06

What Is When: release info

In music, the art of time, you necessarily find the “what” in the “when”. And the “what / when” factor, here, is a jumpy, unquiet, syncopated music coming from the same sources which originated both the Delta and the Chicago blues, the most primordial rock 'n' roll, hardcore punk and free jazz: guts and nerves. So, it's with no real surprise that Portuguese guitarrist Luís Lopes, American contrabassist Adam Lane and Israeli drummer Igal Foni play a strange hybrid of all those styles. Maybe the jazz element is the concrete assembling everything else in this CD, but it's also true that the purpose was to form a power trio, just like the ones celebrated in the history of rock: Jimi Hendrix's Band of Gypsys and Experience, Cream, Blue Cheer, Rush and Motorhead are good examples. Or Sex Pistols, without the vocalist. And a power trio indeed we have, sometimes brutal, but not making things to easy (the rhythms are quite complex, nothing a teenage garage band can do), with no unnecessary ornamentations but evident efficacy. This is emotional, raw, in-your-face music, with lots of feedback and distortion and astonishing solos. When the risk to get tired with all the run turns a menace, they give you some moments of piece, but even in those softer interludes they grab your heart and mind and take it off.

Clean Feed ‎– CF146CD, 2009

Order What Is When

1,2,4,6 recorded 24th September 2007 on Park West Studios, Broklyn, New York.
3,5,7,8,9 recorded 1st July 2008 on Som de Lisboa Studios, Lisbon, Portugal.
Mixed at Namouche Studios, Lisbon, March 2009.